Let´s Learn Japanese! / Lass uns Japanisch lernen! 1978-1985 (2022)
A Hopefull Departure

Voices in the conversation: Christine and Seiichi Furuya, 1978

Photographs: All photographs were taken with Kodak Pocket Instamatic camera between October 1978 and July 1985, primarily by Christine Furuya Goessler. The photographs of Christine herself were taken by Seiichi Furuya and their son, Komyo.

Screening time: 19 minutes

Produced: 2019

>>>screening (password: furuya)


The birth of this work, "Let’s Learn Japanese! 1978-1985", all began with the attic cleanup process.

Early in the New Year 2018, I went through in detail the contents of the cardboard boxes of various sizes that had been left in the attic for decades, and at the same time organized them by content. The main goal was to finally organize and preserve Christine's belongings. Among the movie films and diary, I also found the pocket camera films and audio cassette tapes that made this work possible. It was a vivid record of past temporal life activities that until then had not existed in my memory at all.

In October 1978, I received a pocket camera as a promotional item from KODAK at the Photokina trade fair in Cologne. At the time, Christine was working a part-time vacation job at the Wienerwald restaurant in Böblingen. After finishing my work at Photokina, I visited Christine in Böblingen, and together we returned to Graz by train. The photograph she took of me on the train while it was stopped at the Stuttgart station became the first one taken by Christine with her pocket camera.  I gave her this pocket camera as a gift. She took photographs occasionally in 1978 and frequently after the birth of our son Komyo in 1981. And from June 1982 to May 1984, while the family was in Vienna, she did not take a single photograph. She was busy studying theater; in March 1985, she resumed taking pictures with her pocket camera again in Venice, and about until July, she had taken many photographs in East Berlin, her last place of residence.

From 1979 until June 1982, Christine worked at the Graz office of the Austrian national broadcaster. She sometimes recorded her own documentaries for radio broadcast on cassette tapes at home. Along with these tapes, this tape of us studying Japanese together was also found. I had no recollection of this lesson or that it was ever recorded; In 1978, shortly after we met, Christine was eagerly learning Japanese, mainly as an autodidact. I did little to help her. I had no recollection of this lesson or that it was ever recorded.he had read my impatient, short-tempered nature.?After that, she stopped asking me for help and gradually lost interest in the Japanese language.

From 1979 until June 1982, Christine worked at the Graz office of the Austrian national broadcaster. She sometimes recorded her own documentaries for radio broadcast on cassette tapes at home. Along with these tapes, this tape of us studying Japanese together was also found. I had no recollection of this lesson or that it was ever recorded; In 1978, shortly after we met, Christine was eagerly learning Japanese, mainly as an autodidact. I did little to help her. She had read my impatient, short-tempered nature. After that, she stopped asking me for help and gradually lost interest in the Japanese language.

S.F.

2019


East Berlin 1985
© Komyo Furuya
East Berlin 1985
© Komyo Furuya

Let´s Learn Japanese! / Lass uns Japanisch lernen! 1978-1985 (2022)
Ein hoffnungsvoller Aufbruch

Die Stimmen im Gespräch: Christine und Seiichi Furuya, 1978

Fotografien: Alle Fotos wurden mit Kodak Pocket Instamatic Kamera zwischen Oktober 1978 und Juli 1985 aufgenommen, hauptsächlich von Christine Furuya Goessler. Die Fotos von Christine selbst wurden von Seiichi Furuya oder ihrem Sohn Komyo aufgenommen.

Vorführzeit: 19 Minuten

Produziert: 2019

>>>Screening (Kennwort: furuya)


Die Entstehung dieses Werks "Lasst uns Japanisch lernen! 1978-1985", begann mit der Aufräumaktion auf dem Dachboden.

Zu Beginn des neuen Jahres 2018 ging ich den Inhalt der Kartons verschiedener Größen, die jahrzehntelang auf dem Dachboden gestanden hatten, im Detail durch und ordnete sie gleichzeitig nach Inhalt. Das Hauptziel war es, Christines Habseligkeiten endlich zu ordnen und zu bewahren. Neben den Movie-Filmen und dem Tagebuch fand ich auch die Filme der Pocketkamera und die Tonkassetten, die diese Arbeit erst möglich machten. Es war eine lebendige Aufzeichnung vergangener zeitlicher Lebensaktivitäten, die bis dahin in meiner Erinnerung überhaupt nicht existierten.

Im Oktober 1978 erhielt ich auf der Photokina-Messe in Köln eine Pocketkamera als Werbeartikel von KODAK. Zu dieser Zeit arbeitete Christine als einem Ferienjob im Restaurant Wienerwald in Böblingen. Nach Beendigung meiner Arbeit auf der Photokina besuchte ich Christine in Böblingen, und gemeinsam fuhren wir mit dem Zug zurück nach Graz. Das Foto, das sie von mir im Zug machte, als dieser im Stuttgarter Bahnhof hielt, wurde das erste, das Christine mit ihrer Pocketkamera aufnahm.  Ich schenkte ihr diese Pocketkamera. Im Jahr 1978 fotografierte sie gelegentlich und nach der Geburt unseres Sohnes Komyo im Jahr 1981 häufig. Und von Juni 1982 bis Mai 1984, als die Familie in Wien war, hat sie kein einziges Foto gemacht. Im März 1985 nahm sie das Fotografieren mit der Pocketkamera in Venedig wieder auf, und etwa bis Juli hatte sie in Ost-Berlin, ihrem letzten Wohnort, viele Fotos gemacht.

Von 1979 bis Juni 1982 arbeitete Christine im Grazer Büro des Österreichischen Rundfunks. Manchmal nahm sie zu Hause ihre eigenen Sendungen für den Rundfunk auf Kassetten auf. Neben diesen Kassetten wurde auch diese Kassette gefunden, auf der wir gemeinsam Japanisch lernten. Ich hatte keine Erinnerung an diese Lektion oder daran, dass sie jemals aufgezeichnet wurde; im Jahr 1978, kurz nachdem wir uns kennengelernt hatten, lernte Christine eifrig Japanisch, hauptsächlich als Autodidaktin. Ich tat wenig, um ihr zu helfen. Sie hatte meine ungeduldige, aufbrausende Art erkannt. Danach bat sie mich nicht mehr um Hilfe und verlor allmählich das Interesse an der japanischen Sprache.


S.F.

2019



East Berlin 1985
© Komyo Furuya
East Berlin 1985
© Komyo Furuya